PNP PRO ARMM Official Website - About Our Logo

About Our Logo

PNP Police Regional Office Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Official Logo

"The Star and Crescent" was first hoisted on behalf of the Muslims by Mohamet II after the capture of Constantinople in 1453 CE. Prior to that, it was common on the arm of knights and esquires.  A star within a crescent was a badge of Richard I, 250 years before Constantinople fell. They quit using it when it became the banner of the Muslims.  It has been used more and more ever since by Muslims in a way to identify themselves. Sultan Othman, founder of the Ottoman Empire, dreamt of a crescent moon growing bigger and bigger until it reached east to west. Thus, it was adopted until this time as a symbol of Islam.

As the other provincial flags in the Philippines, the Flag is composed by a plain background with the Official Seal of the Province in the center.  At the center of the seal is the Handle of the Kris, slightly drawn symbolizing authority used by the major tribes in the area.  White in color as it stands for purity, and only slightly drawn as it is for peace.  The Crescent symbolizes the predominance of its Muslim populace.  Its yellow color typifies the social class structure of its major tribes.  The Four Small Stars represent its component provinces, namely Lanao Del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. The Big Star represents the Republic of the Philippines. The background is green to show its fertile soil, rich vegetation and animal life and abundant natural resources.

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) was created on August 1, 1989 by virtue of Republic Act 6734. However, it was actually organized and inaugurated on November 6, 1990 (with Philippines under the Presidency of Corazon C Aquino) at Cotabato City, The seat of the Regional Government.  In 1996, to get the Moro National Liberation Front to lay down its arms, the MNLF former chief Nur Misuari was given the Chief Executive Post.  A plebisite on August 14, 2001 in the 14 provinces and cities of Mindanao and Palawan was done, asking them whether they wanted to join the ARMM. The results showed that only Basilan Province (excluding Isabela CIty) and Marawi City opted to join ARMM.

The ARMM Region, is now composed of five provinces; Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.  Also included in the ARMM are two component cities; Marawi in Lanao del Sur and Lamitan in Basilan. However, the ARMM does not exercise jurisdiction over the city where the its seat of government is located (Cotabato City is part of Region 12) or the capital city of one of its provinces (the majority of Isabela City residents voted against joining the ARMM while the rest of Basilan did.)

The Three (3) Stars symbolized the three major islands: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

Disciple, Morality and Commitment stands for the cored values of PNP PRO ARMM personnel.

1991 symbolized the creation of Police Regional Office Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).


Top of Page